Wheelchair Fund

Jet Black Ink

WC01017_excel_allterrain_outdoor_selfpropelled_wheelchair This is the Excel All-Terrain Outdoor SP wheelchair

So I started a GoFundMe for a new wheelchair. I was nervous about doing so for a few reasons, not least of all: what if nobody cares? why should anyone give me money? I feel bad asking for things! Shouldn’t I just be grateful I have a wheelchair at all?

But then I went ahead and made the campaign anyway. Yes, I’m worried that I’m just one tiny person on the Internet, and not very well-known, even (especially?) within the chronic illness and disabled communities, so it would feel like shouting into the wind. Yes, I worried that I’ll be sitting here, afraid that I’ll be sitting here feeling fairly invisible and that those feelings of inadequacy will lead me down the familiar paths of yes, but shouldn’t I be grateful for my current wheelchair? and Isn’t it just vain or…

View original post 689 more words

Leave a Reply

