My Year in Books — Introduction

This year has been a tough one. At times it has tried, very, very hard, to be a bad one but really, it only ever managed to be tough. I learnt some things through harsh lessons, survived a pile of shit, and am finding myself at the other end of the deep dark tunnel I have been crawling through all year. I’m bruised and battered and covered in cuts (some less metaphorical than others, unfortunately), but I’m still here, and I’m a hell of a lot stronger than I was to start with.

I guess that when my grandma kept saying that ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’, she had one hell of a point.

2013-12-02 15.17.37So here I stand, with a lot less blogging (and a lot less of a lot of things) done than what I wanted to have done this year. But I did some things: I studied, passed my exams, read (and listened to a lot of audiobooks), started writing again, started learning to draw (just), played video games (and completed one that had been languishing unfinished for years), and generally learnt a shitload about myself. So, in the end, not that bad a year after all. The problem is that sometimes, I can’t see everything I have done. It’s for that purpose I have acquired a book titled ‘I’m doing my best’ in which I can list all the good things that I do, and the bad too, so I can learn to live with them and move through them.

But I digress.

As I was saying, I didn’t get much blogging done, and that means a whole lot of books that I never got the chance to review. My brother, being the little genius that he is, suggested that I used December as the perfect month to do a ‘my year in books’ series of post where I get to (more or less) briefly review the books (or series) that I have been through this year.

I’ve read a lot of books this year (42 if you believe Goodreads but some of those are manga and there are a bunch of short stories in there too!), most of which I didn’t so much read as I listened to. Audiobooks were my saviours this year as my concentration waned with the growing of my depression and focussing on words on a page for more than a few minutes at a time was impossible. But I could always listen.  And so I did and probably about a third of the books I read this year were in fact read to me either by my brother (who does voices, how cool is that?) or by some narrator (some better than others). And when I wasn’t being read to, I also spent a fair amount of time doing the reading aloud myself to my brother (I don’t do voices as well, unfortunately).
photo 1This year has been a year of books for me, more than any year before. It has also been a year of series as I caught up on the entirety of the Dresden Files series, read all of The Seven Realm series in one fell swoop, listened to the Demon Cycle series (two of those did get reviews already), and fell head first into the world of the Shadowhunters with both The Infernal Devices (finished the series) and The Mortal Instruments (onto the fourth book now!). It’s been a year of false starts with books too (I think three or four lay abandoned by the wayside as I just couldn’t get into them), but there have been more five star reads than anything else.

And I want people to know about all those awesome books, so that they, too, can read then when they need solace from the real world, or just when they’re looking for a damn good read.

photo 2 There will be twelve reviews as part of this series which will be (not in order of reading or preference):
–          Blood and Feathers Rebellion by Lou Morgan
–          City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
–          City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
–          City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
–          The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
–          Katya’s War by Jonathan L. Howard
–          The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Jonhson
–          The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett
–          The Greyfriar by Clay and Susan Griffith
–          The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
–          The Seven Realm series by Cinda Williams Chima
–          The Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

And all going well, the first novel (whichever it will be), should be going up tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

